14 international prizes for PhD Students under Troll's supervision:


  • EGU Outstanding Student Poster Award  (2014)
  • Mineralogical Society of UK and Ireland: ‘R. Howie Best Paper Award for Young Scientists’ (2013)
  • International Association of Geoanalysts ‘Young Scientist Award’ (2011)
  • Aurum Exploration ‘Young Scientist Award’ (2008)
  • American Geophysical Union ‘Best Poster Award’ (2006, 2007)
  • Geological Society of London ‘Fermor Prize’ (2006)
  • de Beers ‘Young Scientist  Award’ (2006)
  • Irish National Research Meeting ‘Poster Prize’ (2005)
  • VMSG ‘Best Talk’ and ‘Poster Prize’ (2004, 2005, 2006, 2011, 2012)



10 undergraduate prizes for students under Troll's supervision:

  • Irish National Research Meeting Poster Prize (2003, 2005)
  • Midland Valley Prize (2004, 2006, 2014)
  • VMSG Poster Prize (2005, 2007)
  • Cunningham Award for best mapping project of the year by the Geological Survey of Ireland (2004, 2007)
  • Best Earth Science MSc thesis, UU (2019)




Daniel Müller

expected submission: end of 2020

Main Supervisor: T.R. Walter

(GFZ Potsdam, Germany)




Since 2003 Troll completed 18 PhD students as main supervisor and 3 PhD student as co-supervisor to completion.

Harri Geiger UU, 2019

Trans-crustal magma storage in contrasting tectonic settings.

Main Supervisor: F.M. Deegan

Herlan Darmawan GFZ Potsdam, Germany, 2018

Dome instability at Merapi volcano, Central Java, Indonesia.

Main Supervisor: T.R. Walter


Sylvia Berg Nordvulk & UU, 2016

Origin of rhyolitic magmas in NE-Iceland.


Börje Dahren UU, 2016

Magma plumbing in the North Atlantic Igneous Province and Indonesia.


David Budd UU, 2016

Geochmical evolution of large explosive caldera systems.


Magnus Andersson UU, 2015,

3D Structure and Emplacement of the Alnö Alkaline and Carbonatite Complex, Sweden.

Main Supervisor: Dr. Alireza Mahlemir


Ester Muñoz Jolis UU, 2013

Magma-crust interaction and crustal volatile recycling at subduction zone volcanoes.


Lara Blythe UU & TCD, 2012

Remobilisation of crustal volatiles by volcanic activitys.


Frances Deegan UU & TCD, 2010

Magma-crust interaction: geochemistry and experimental petrology.


Lucie Mathieu TCD, 2010

The impact of strike-slip movements on volcano structures.


Paul Byrne TCD, 2010

Origin of giant volcano terraces on Mars.


Sebastian Wiesmaier TCD, 2010

Microanalytical approaches to petrogenisis at Teide volcano, Tenerife.


Eleanor Donoghue TCD, 2010

Hydrothermal alteration in caldera settings of the Canary Islands.


Audray Delcamp TCD, 2010

Evolution of the North-East rift-zone on Tenerife, Canary Islands.


Graeme Nicoll TCD, 2009

Shallow-level differentiation and crustal influence in NW-Scotland.


Marc-Antoine Longpré TCD, 2009

Decompressional effects of surface unloading in the Canary Islands.


Fiona Meade TCD, 2009

Petrogenisis of high-silica magmas in the British Tertiary Igneous Province.


Jane Chadwick TCD, 2007

In-situ isotopes analysis of mineral components in recent Merapi lavas.


Eoghan Holohan TCD, 2007

Origin and evolution of caldera volcanoes.


Brian O'Driscoll TCD, 2006

Mineral layering in gabbro intrusions from the British Tertiary Igneous Province.


Rebecca Gould TCD, 2005

Origin and significance of interbasaltic laterites in the Antrim basalt field, Ireland.

Troll was from 2004 to 2007 member of the MSc-PhD transfer committee for Earth Sciences at Trinity College Dublin, Ireland (evaluation of approx. 10 students/year).



Robert A. Askew: Breiðdalur Central Volcano. What came first: The Central Volcano or The Fissure Swarm?

University of Iceland, 2020.

Robert Gooday: The central volcanic complex of the Isle of Arran, Scotland.

Cardiff University, UK, 2018.


Louise Goode: Investigating the magmatic drivers behind temporal variations in eruption frequency and style at Kelut Volcano, Indonesia.

Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia, 2018.


Alexander Lewerentz: Fluid-induced alteration of metasedimentary rocks in the Scottish Highlands.

Stockholm University, Sweden, 2017.


William Michael Moreland: Explosive activity in flood lava eruptions: A case study of the 10th century Eldgjá eruption, Iceland.

University of Iceland, 2017.


Elin Tollefsen: Chemical controls on ikaite formation, Ikka Fjord, western Greenland.

Stockholm University, Sweden, 2017.


Zeinab Jeddi: Seismological investigation of Katla volcanic system (Iceland): 3D verlocity structure and overall seismitcity pattern.

Uppsala University, Sweden, 2016 (Reserve committee member).


Frederik E. Brandt: Mantle enrichment by volatiles beneath the Payenia backarc, Argentina.

University of Copenhagen, Denmark, 2016.


Quinten Har Adriaan van der Meer: The timing and sources of intraplate magmatism related to continental breakup in southern New Zealand.

University of Copenhagen, Denmark, 2015.


Simon Drake: Explosive volcanism in the British Palaeogene Igneous Province, NW-Scotland.

University of London, Birkbeck College, UK, 2014.


Charlotte Dyhr: Development of back-arc volcanism in Mendoza, Argentina.

University of Copenhagen, Denmark, 2013.


Gilles Charreteur: Silicic rocks at Thingmuli volcano, Iceland.

University of Aarhus, Denmark, 2012.


Sigurjon B. Thorarinsson: Silicic volcanism in N-Greenland.

University of Copenhagen, Denmark, 2010.


Helena Bergman: Post-deformational equilibration of crystaline matter; Ballachulish, Scotland.

PhD lic., Stockholm University, Sweden, 2010.


Karl Roa: Structural evolution of La Palma, Canary Islands.

Trinity College Dublin, Ireland, 2003.


Since 2010, Chief Examiner for Petrology at Uppsala University, examination of >10 MSc theses at UU per year (not listed).




Elisabeth MacKenzie Bertolett:

A multi-method approach to erupted plutonic lithics from the Akaroa Magmatic System, New Zealand.

University of Canterbury, New Zealand, 2020.

Kristian Agasøster Haaga: Petrogenesis of Jan Mayen Ridge magmas in space and time.

University of Bergen, Norway, 2014.


Catherine Curtis: Low δ-oxygen magmas at Koegel Fontein ring complex, South Africa.

University of Cape Town, South Africa, 2009.


Prof. VALENTIN R. TROLL   Chair of Petrology  |  Uppsala University  |   Sweden  |